h1

Felting Color Class Tips

January 15, 2014

colored felt classFelted color study by Norie Clark. Jan 4 2014.

I’ve thought a lot about color in my 13 years of felting and looked a what makes a colored piece look fresh, intriguing and full of energy and life. Felting has a particular element -you can keep endlessly piling color upon color and it doesn’t get muddy like paint. If you put the wool down thinly the colors of wool will mix into each other . If you lay the wool heavily you can paint colors out.

Here are my 5 rules of color.

1.Pick out the colors you like then extend the values -that is add in much lighter and darker values.

2.Lay out your piece and extend the values further-darken your darks and lighten your lights.

3. Add black and white.

4. Add the primaries, pure tones of red , yellow and blue. The eye is attracted to these unmixed shades. Red will move the eye around your piece, blue make everything more beautiful.

5.Bring the colors up very brightly, almost to the point of garishness. You are going to lose a least 20 to 30 percent of your color in the felting process.

Ok there is my 13 years of color observation.

So I know I said no more 1 day felting classes but I decided to do a few.

The next felting class will be Nuno felting { felting into Fabric } Sat April  5. In addition I will have a Texture in Felting class Sat Oct 4.

I will be teaching a 2 day felting class at The Mendocino Art Center Sat And Sunday June 7 and 8 that is part of a townwide feltbombing installation all summer. More about this soon !

If you would like to take a felting class with me drop me a line at c.hoffberg@deepcolorstuio.com

IMG_0630

2 comments

  1. I love the piece you did that’s at the end!  Fantastic.  Carol

    ________________________________


  2. Loved both pieces and thank you for the info re color
    Bonnie Retzik



Leave a Reply

